Georgia Honors at 2019 USATF Annual Meeting Awards Breakfast

RENO, Nevada -- USATF honored outstanding contributions by both individual members and regional associations at the Annual Awards Breakfast on Saturday morning as part of 2019 USATF Annual Meeting at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino.

The USATF Georgia Association won the Mike Riban Contributor Award for Outstanding Association in Race Walking. The Race Walking Committee gives this award in memory of longtime supporter and official Mike Riban (Green & Gold AC, Chicago) to the outstanding contributor to the event.

Georgia athlete Jordan Crawford won the Henry Laskau Junior Athlete Award for Outstanding Male Athlete in Race Walking. The Henry Laskau Award is presented to the year's outstanding U.S. junior male and female race walkers. The award commemorates the achievements of Olympian Henry Laskau as an athlete and a person. It was first presented in 2000. Henry Laskau, now a member of the USA Track & Field Hall of Fame, was the first of the modern day race walkers who electrified the crowds at Madison Square Garden. After losing his family to the concentration camps in World War II, Laskua found his way to America. Switching from distance running to race walking, Laskua became a 3 time Olympian. It was during the height of his career in 1951 when he brought the Garden’s crowd to its feet. Laskau’s record walk of 6:19.2 for the mile that evening became a world record which stood for 12 years. Henry competed in the 1948, 1952 and 1956 Olympic Games.

Georgia athlete Betty Lindberg won the Paul Spangler Award which recognizes the athlete who set an example for us all by continuing to compete at a high level in long distance road races well into their later years. The oldest female and male divisional Road Runner of the Year are honored with this annual award.

For more details: